Join Bridge Winners
Another ruling case

 

West
J8
8
Q9542
J10753
North
AKQ7
Q63
10763
Q9
East
1053
AKJ1095
K
842
South
9642
742
AJ8
AK6
W
N
E
S
P
1NT
2
2
P
P
P
D
2 South
NS: 0 EW: 0

 

French « Division Nationale 3 » played behind screens.

1NT is alerted by North

2 is alerted by East and explained to N as Unspecified Major

1NT is alerted by South and explained  to W as 11-13HCP

2 is alerted by West and explained to S as Hearts

Before passing, North asked again about the meaning of 2. East confirmed « Unspecified Major »

Result: 2 by South down one.

Director is appealed by North.

East-West admitted they have been pre alerted, and have discussed the defence against weak NT

East-West say they play

- against strong NT : 2 is Unspecified Major

- against weak NT: 2 is  Hearts

East say he was not alerted by North, and forgot the Weak NT (this was the second and last board played against these opponents)

North say he put the alert in the middle of the tray.

Director maintained the score, arguing « The alert should be posed on the last opponent bid. It is North responsibility to ensure that the alert is seen by East «

The appeal committee confirm the ruling.

The ruling is correct.
The ruling is incorrect
Other(please explain)

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
90 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top