Join Bridge Winners
Ruling - a revoke and a killing defense

West
J2
74
KQ42
Q10962
North
Q9863
J102
87
K75
East
A75
AQ65
J10965
J
South
K104
K983
A3
A843
W
N
E
S
P
P
1
X
P
1
P
P
2
P
2
P
P
P
D
2 East
NS: 0 EW: 0

 

This is a deal from today's Consolation Pair in WBF Junior World championships in Opatija, Croatia. In Consolation all U26, U21, U16 and Girls U26 pairs are lumped together but in this case both partnerships are U16. East - West were my children and I was kibitzing.

The 1 opening was Precision 2+. South led a spade, My son who was East won the A and played on trumps. South ducked and trumps were continued. South won the second round of trumps, perforce, then cashed the K and continued the suit. Declarer ruffed in dummy.

We have reached he key moment of the hand. If East plays a club from dummy then North must go up with the king and play a heart through or else South will be endplayed. 

East does play a club from dummy but North dicards the 2. East puts in the J and South follows low smoothly (no hesitation - I saw it and I still find it hard to believe but South insta-ducked). So the J holds until North wakes up and says "sorry, I have a club".

 The TD is called. He announces that North has revoked but the revoke is unestablished and must be corrected and the 2 is a penatly card. He fails to convey the message that if North corrects his revoke then both the J and the 3 will be retracted (North - South were Chinese and not really fluent in English), So when the kid is told to correct the revoke he can see the J and the 3 that are still on the table. From my vantage point between North and East it seems clear that he is under the impression that the two other clubs will remain on the table and thus it seems logical to him to take the trick with his king.

When he plays the king the TD tells East that he can now change his card to whatever he wants but East has no other club so he still plays the J. South plays the 3 and North wins the trick. Now he has to play his penalty card 2 and the killing defense is complete. 2 +1,

It took the directors a few hours to come up with a ruling which was 2 +2. The case seems quite interesting to me so I imagine people interested in the laws of the game might want to discuss it. I will certainly welcome any input

 

Best regards,

Konrad Ciborowski

Kraków, Poland

44 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top