Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Thomas Berg
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 25 26 27 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The only lead to give declarer a problem is 5 or 6. Then he must guess correct later to take 10 tricks.
4 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Damo Noir

So it is only a hypothesis. :)
Oct. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Damo Nair

Did they (Belladonna - Avarelli) or did they not change their system from 1959 to 1966?
Oct. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partners hand was:

AK8
K9
AK1072
AQ5

http://www.pzbs.pl/wyniki/liga/liga2018-19/ekstraklasa/rr1b-3.html

Table number 2 open room.
Oct. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It is the only option when partner has denied a club control!
Oct. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Actually partner had only 23p.

The slow pass can only show less than promised but having a club control. What else? :)
Oct. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Tomasz Radko

Please read my comment further up this thread. :)
Oct. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“USING THE METHODS OF THE PARTNERSHIP”.

Exactly - but this seems to be forgotten in asking peers. 4D denied club control. So only way to stop in 4S seems to be a fast 4S in this pairs methods.
Oct. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A quick 4S seems to be only sign off!
Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Chris Gibson

The TD made it a LA question. IMO it is an UI question cause you know for 100% sure partner has a club control.

In most LA questions you do not know for sure why partner was huddling. But in this case you know.

That`s why I made the poll this way. And I think the voters can abstract.:)

But in a way I agree with you. :)
Oct. 16
Thomas Berg edited this comment Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
According to the voting until now PASS is a clear LA. :)
Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner had less than 24p. He had 23p BUT he had club control. Only way to show this is to pause for more than a minut and then bid 4S!

And a quick 4S denies club control.

Bidding can be so much more than just sophisticated! ;( ;(
Oct. 16
Thomas Berg edited this comment Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But according to TD in the real case 6S was ok and legal and pass NOT a LA! He even asked some peers to confirm this.

So why back to 4S?
Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Next time this will happen:

It turns out that it was not your partner who was thinking more than one minut but your opponent to the right ( behind the screen ) who let one minut go before passing your partners 4S bid.

By this pausing he “tells” YOU that your partner has a club control and when you bid 6S he doubles and take his AK in clubs. Very smart player.

Director!! How to rule this?
Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Tomasz Radko

Why did partner not bid 4H or something else but 4S?
Oct. 15
Thomas Berg edited this comment Oct. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But the bid was not 5H but 6S.
Oct. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
IMO 5H is the correct and best bid!
Oct. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
IMO this is not about LA but using the illegal information that partner has a club control even when denying this!
Oct. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@ Mike Ma.

Yes I could - but I wanted the comments and more discusion than in a bidding poll.

But wait - the story is maybe not yet over!
Oct. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Which other options? :)

This is what happened at the table and the opponents questioned the 6S bid by calling the director.
Oct. 15
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 25 26 27 28
.

Bottom Home Top