Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for John Portwood

John Portwood
John Portwood
  • 0
    Following
  • 7
    Followers
  • 112
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Aug. 23, 2011
Last Seen
19 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Now in Mid 50s, have been member of one bridge club for 40 years - and pretty well play in the one club. Married with one youth and work in insurance.

I like to think that I am a highly ethical, polite and considerate to partner and opponents.

 

Country
United Kingdom

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Overcalling a multi 2D on a six card spade suit - only to find that that was the suit intended.
Bridge Accomplishments
Winning a pack of 6 mixer drinks in an EBU magazine competition
Regular Bridge Partners
Professor WJ Zakrzewski
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Durham
Favorite Tournaments
Don't play in any.
Favorite Conventions
My own!
BBO Username
weejonnie
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Long Hesitation
Law 73D deals with variations in tempo (and 73E2 allows the awarding of an adjusted score - but only in the circumstances if there was no demonstrable bridge reason for the pause.) I don't like this, but not sure what would be the alternative: If a player has a demonstrable ...
World Bridge Day
It is Scottish Whisky and Irish Whiskey. Both called 'the water of life' - uisge-beatha in Scotland and Uisce beatha in Ireland. Cheers
Long Hesitation
If you talk VERY quickly you can get it under law 12C1d. (results numerous or not obvious). I am second-guessing here but an interpretation of 12C2 2. (a) When owing to an irregularity no result can be obtained [see also C1(d)] the Director awards an artificial adjusted score according ...
Long Hesitation
Hi Kit. The reason is that 'revoking' does not involve any 'judgement' and, uniquely, has specific rectifications. It also happens (usually) by accident - by which I mean that it is a misunderstanding of the state of the board. (The same of course applies to other 'rule-book' decisions e.g. calls ...
Long Hesitation
Maybe it was a psychic pause, or 'walking the dog' or an attempt to prevent opponents from bidding 4 my suggesting he was thinking of doubling 3 (breach of yet another law). I have come round to the thinking that when taking a course of positive action could ...
my hand tells me partner has misbid
East has no obligations, PROVIDING his partner has no 'previous' in forgetting conventional calls - assuming there was no BIT in the 2 call.
What do you lead at trick 3?
At matchpoints I would cash my Aces - if partner encourages then I'm lucky. If not then I would lead a second club on the offchance declarer had 4 of them.
Bidding for the 2017 Laws
It was whether the phrase "arising from ..." applied or was the change of conventional meaning the reason. (Novus actus interveniens) - a new action has intervened.
Bidding for the 2017 Laws
You may be right - the question is: does the word 'arising' actually apply to the call made, or just the fact that partner will pass when a comparable call can't be made. "In Jure Non Remota Causa Sed Proxima Spectatur"
Bidding for the 2017 Laws
You don't NEED lots of points and an excellent suit. Provided the replacement bid SHOWS lots of points and an excellent suit, that is sufficient. (Also provided partner does not allow for the fact that you may not have what you say you have - although law 23C (and others ...
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top