Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Kit Woolsey

Kit Woolsey
Kit Woolsey
  • 25
    Following
  • 1292
    Followers
  • 453
    Posts
  • 63
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
July 29, 2010
Last Seen
an hour ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Kit Woolsey is a world-class bridge and backgammon player, analyst, and writer. His most recent major victory was winning the Cavendish Invitational Pairs in 2011. He was elected to the ACBL Hall of Fame in 2005 and lives in Kensington, CA.

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Kit - Sally
Precision
Copy to my cards View/Print
Question concerning negative (non-forcing) freebids at the two level
Neither. I play: If a 2-level bid in a suit would have been a negative free bid, then: Negative double followed by bidding the suit at the 2-level is non-forcing. Negative double followed by bidding the suit at the 3-level is game-forcing. Also, I play negative free bids only in ...
In the dark. (ACBL)
It isn't a question of whether I know it. It is a question of whether my opponents know it the same way I do.
Play 6H
If the hearts aren't 4-0 I'm always making if the clubs behave, since I have 5 heart tricks, 5 club tricks, 1 spade trick, 1 diamond trick. If the hearts are 4-0 I don't see a straightforward way to come to 12 tricks unless the player with ...
Improve my analysis!
How do you still beat the contract when you get in with the ace of hearts and shift to a spade?
In the dark. (ACBL)
When I ask and get a response such as "Cappelletti", I simply say: I'm sorry, but I don't know what that convention is. My opponents are only too glad to educate me. Even if I believe I know what their answer means, I will still do this. It ...
In the dark. (ACBL)
Which is why I always ask.
Improve my analysis!
Of course that is a possible layout, in which case you must return a small heart. I judged it less likely than the layout where a spade return is the winner, since it requires partner to have king, jack, and either 10 or 9 of hearts and for declarer to ...
In the dark. (ACBL)
Art, Screens have nothing to do with it. If the opponents happen to be having a mixup, the answer to my question will be UI to them and they will not be able to use it. Wayne, I don't understand. My question doesn't impart any UI to my ...
"The worst play I have ever seen"
East's diamond discard has to be a count card looking at that dummy. This must be the information that West needs, so West can cut off dummy if that is the right defense. If East had discarded the 2 of diamonds, West would have played a fourth round of ...
In the dark. (ACBL)
I don't bother reaching for the opponent's convention card in the first place. I simply ask the partner of the doubler what the double means, and I do so without regard to my hand.
.

Bottom Home Top