Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Kit Woolsey

Kit Woolsey
Kit Woolsey
  • 25
    Following
  • 1223
    Followers
  • 409
    Posts
  • 63
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
July 29, 2010
Last Seen
an hour ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Kit Woolsey is a world-class bridge and backgammon player, analyst, and writer. His most recent major victory was winning the Cavendish Invitational Pairs in 2011. He was elected to the ACBL Hall of Fame in 2005 and lives in Kensington, CA.

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Kit - Sally
Precision
Copy to my cards View/Print
What's going on here?
Did South follow to the first round of clubs? Also, which heart was returned, and what heart did North play?
Unauthorized Information - when do you need to pass and when can you bid?
It comes down to bridge judgment whether or not East is permitted to compete to 3 over an enemy 2. With this hand (5-4-2-2, nice jack of hearts, nice primes, none-vul), I can say that selling out to 2 undoubled wouldn't be on my radar -- I ...
Unauthorized Information - when do you need to pass and when can you bid?
No David -- in fact, I expect 3-card support. I also expect partner to double 2 on any hand with 4 spades and only 3 hearts. When he fails to do so, I know the opponents have at least 8 spades and we have at least 8 hearts. With neither ...
Unauthorized Information - when do you need to pass and when can you bid?
There is no way East is going to sell out to 2 or 3 undoubled with this hand. However, I would consider an immediate 3 call inferior since defending 2 or 3 doubled might be better and West will have a good idea about that ...
Strike Gold
You could certainly be right, and I think a heart is a close second choice. I chose a diamond because this is our known 5-card suit rather than their known 5-card suit, and partner could have 2 or even 3 diamonds to an honor.
Strike Gold
I totally agree. Regardless of whether a partnership opens "light" or not, you have to draw the line somewhere. Where that line is drawn is up to the partnership, period.
ATB - non-making game instead of diamond slam
Takeout double looks okay -- everything else seems worse. 4 is just plain wrong. If North judges his hand worth a game drive opposite a takeout double, then North should bid 2 followed by 3. This improves the chances of getting to the best strain. It isn't ...
Strike Gold
I see your point. if declarer doesn't have the jack but has 2 lower spots than the spot returned, if he keeps both of these spots hidden then the 7 lead could be from either A7xx or A10x7.
Strike Gold
That is true if East knows what he wants West to do. The problem is that holding A10xx he doesn't know what the best defense is -- that depends upon the location of the jack of spades. Holding AJ of spades, East can and should leave no doubt by cashing ...
Strike Gold
Shifting to a high spot generally says you don't like the suit. On this hand, the only reason East can afford to spend the 10 of spade is that he has the 9. If East had A1087, he would have to shift to the 7 of spades in order ...
.

Bottom Home Top