Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Marty Harris

Marty Harris
Marty Harris
  • 0
    Following
  • 8
    Followers
  • 2
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Nov. 3, 2010
Last Seen
4 seconds ago
Member Type
bridge player

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Precision 1!C opener’s 1N Rebid - What’s Legal
Bruce, You're creating non-existent problems by badly misreading the GCC. The GCC's definition of a "relay system" says it only applies to methods where the relays start BEFORE opener's first rebid. The question here was about opener's first rebid (1C - 1D - 1NT), not about anything before ...
What do you expect?
Larry, when Kit says "to play," he obviously means it's a natural OFFER to play 3NT. If you're not playing a strong club and Opener has 19 HCP, obviously he can make a slam try over 3NT. Kit's description of "to play" is still accurate.
Precision 1!C opener’s 1N Rebid - What’s Legal
This is a very simple question. The rules CLEARLY say that "all calls starting with the opening bidder's second call" are legal. There are no restrictions on Opener's rebid. The reason is obvious. As Tom Peters said, once both opponents have had a chance to bid, there's ...
Symmetric Two-Bids (clubs and diamonds both strong and artificial)
Charles, I used to play my own version of the system you described: 2C = C or H or bal. 22-23, while 2D = D or S or bal. 24+. It worked very well when it came up, we averaged significant gains. However, it doesn't come up that much. I gave ...
New ACBL Convention Charts - general club impact
At first glance Richard seems correct. The bids he's describing qualify as natural since they show length in the suit opened and aren't forcing. However, I'd need to double check whether it's considered natural to open a 4 card suit at the 2-level or whether 5 ...
Yet another "Is pass forcing"?
Arend, no it's not standard that pass is forcing just because you bid game. In my partnerships, if partner wanted to create a forcing pass situation he would have Q-bid 4D instead of jumping to 4S. This is an area that requires discussion and agreement but you should not ...
A not-so-"minor" problem
I agree with Chris.
Stuff about appeals that some people may find boring
Michael, if you're going to post hands it's important to get the hand diagram right and explain the bidding. 1. In your diagram, NO ONE has the A, K, or Q of diamonds. It's a 31 point deck. It's hard to know who should do what ...
You be the judge!
The 6S bid is "legal" INITIALLY because you don't know who huddled (playing behind screens, it's possible the Opp just asked partner to explain something). However, if it turns out partner is the one who huddled, then I would roll 6S back to 4S because passing 4S is ...
Doubt on "Following the law", by Larry Cohen
Rafael, Mike Ma and John Adams are correct. The whole premise of the LOTT is to add BOTH your side's trump length AND the opponents' trump length. If we have 8 and they have 9, the combined total is 17. That means we should bid 3-over-3 (so 3S over ...
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top