Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Mason Barge

Mason Barge
Mason Barge
  • 12
  • 5
  • 63
  • 0

Basic Information

Member Since
Jan. 8, 2015
Last Seen
13 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Favorite bridge quote: "If I didn't make mistakes, why would I be playing with you?" (But only if partner will find it humorous.)

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Winning my first Open Pairs at a tournament.
Bridge Accomplishments
Won the Mini-McKenney and Ace of Clubs my first year (2015), albeit in the lowly 50-100 bracket..
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Bridge Club of Atlanta
Favorite Tournaments
Greenville/Hilton Head Regionals
Favorite Conventions
"Keller Convention": I can't see my partner's mistakes. I can't speak to criticize my partner. If my partner criticizes me, I can't hear. I play bridge to have a good time!
BBO Username
ACBL Ranking
Gold Life Master
Tarokh Taefi 2/1
2 over 1 (3635481 - 9079653)
Copy to my cards View/Print
Bob Abrams
Standard 2/1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Charlie Babcock 2/1
2 over 1 (3635481 - 9079653)
Copy to my cards View/Print
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Copy of Mason Barge-Roger Quillen
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Copy to my cards View/Print
Diane Landry/Mason Barge
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Comedy of errors: how do you straighten it out?
North has every right to ask what 3 means. What’s he supposed to do, guess? If N does not double and S leads a spade, he’s got some explaining to do.
Mason Barge's bidding problem: K6 K6543 AT A764
Partner's hand is ♠A2 AQJT4 87632 ♣8. In a decent club game, with diamonds 3-3, only 2 pairs managed 12 tricks. A lesson in entry management, I guess. If you try to ruff three clubs, you lose two tricks on a trump promotion. Some East's made the hand ...
Jacoby 2 Nt Responses over interference
Double = stolen bid, Pass = shortness in a lower suit. Everything else is unchanged. I'm a KISS guy and don't want to have to remember more than two things. Plus, there's something to be said for not letting the opponents mess up my own slam bidding, even if ...
Ilhan Topkaya's bidding problem: K9xxx AKJxxx A x
Whether 4SF is forcing to game depends on your agreement. XYZ - I bid 2. Playing 3 as a game force makes no sense to me. I never splinter in a suit partner has bid. YMMV.
Ronald Vickery's bidding problem: QJ6 J987652 Q Q8
So is 98765!
Frances Hinden's bidding problem: K952 92 J97652 7
There is a guarantee that partner’s clubs are much better than J9xxxx.
Frances Hinden's bidding problem: K952 92 J97652 7
I have one more club and 4 more points than I promised. I'm passing. In the words of Terence Reese, bidding here runs the risk of a red-faced partner having no choice but to bid 3, down one.
Sam Marks's bidding problem: 93 K9754 K3 KT95
Haha! I was going to put this up as a bidding problem and you beat me to it! Well I voted for my actual call, you might want to discount it. :)
Director Ruling
It seems to me that the expert player’s explanation was likely correct. If so, I don’t see that Rule 20F5 would apply. In fact, if it was an incorrect explanation, relief should be automatic.
Bob Simkins's bidding problem: Q7653 --- 8632 Q753
If you pull this and partner has four (or five!) solid tricks, you'll never hear the end of it.

Bottom Home Top