Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Michael Rosenberg

Michael Rosenberg
Michael Rosenberg
  • 4
    Following
  • 743
    Followers
  • 11
    Posts
  • 42
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Dec. 25, 2010
Last Seen
an hour ago
Member Type
Bridge Pro
about me

I am a full time professional player, and have been so since 2004 (before that, I was semi-professional). I play in all the Nationals, a few Regionals, and do a little online teaching. My wife Debbie is also a full-time professional. We have a son, Kevin. I have two daughters, Ivana and Jahna, from a previous marriage

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Winning the 1994 Rosenblum
Bridge Accomplishments
Winner of Rosenblum, 1998 Par Contest, 5 US Trials, Spingold(2), Vanderbilt(2), Reisinger(2), More
Regular Bridge Partners
Zia Mahmood, Debbie Rosenberg, Chris Willenken
Favorite Tournaments
World Championship(any), US Trials
Favorite Conventions
KeyCard Blackwood, Transfers, Jacoby 2N
BBO Username
scotty
ACBL Ranking
Grand Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
What is this double?
On the assumption that 3+ is not alertable and 2+ is alertable. If asking (with no alert) then doubling carries a different meaning than not asking then doubling, then there is a problem. One should either always ask or never ask - regardless of which hand-type one wants to bid with.
What is this double?
John A: " If double of xx of clubs lead directing is so supperior, why not double of xxx of clubs be lead directing? " One must concede that 2+ covers a LOT more hands than 3+. "3+" (in standard) can only be fewer than 4 when precisely 3-4-3-3. "2+" (meaning 2red ...
What is this double?
Dave B: True. It doesn't alter my opinion that your 'analogy' to nebulous 1m opening is unreasonable.
Can a declarer ask what the contract is?
Jyri: That's because if people discuss the beautiful aspects of the game (especially card play) they risk looking stupid...
Can a declarer ask what the contract is?
Rainer: "Let me ask you: What do you do if an opponent asked what the contract is. Would you tell him?" Of course. "Would that be an issue for you?" Of course not "Would you explain what the rules are in this case?" No. "Would you call the director?" Of ...
What is this double?
Dave B: "Do you play double of nebulous opening bids of 1 or Precision 1 as lead-directing?" I don't think that analogy is reasonable. Over a nebulous 1m, your main goal is still a contract for your side. Lead Directing would not be reasonable, Over a GF ...
Can a declarer ask what the contract is?
Rainer: "I do not think being polite needs to be codified in the "Laws". If an opponent asks what the contract is as a matter of courtesy I will tell him rather than call the director for the "correct" ruling." Do you also "as a matter of politeness", do the ...
Can a declarer ask what the contract is?
David B: Absolutely. Which is why I said " Not that relevant for declarer - barring gamesmanship." On the other hand, it may be that declarer has legitimately forgotten, and is just trying to save time. Thus, the thought might be, 'if the contract is 'y', I have the rest and can ...
Another "what is standard?" poll
There are hands that double with 14 or 15 HCP that might want to try for game facing a jump to 2M. Playing 2N forcing might be giving up on the best contract when advancer has a no-trumpy (in context) minimum. Playing 2N as NF, doubler still has the options ...
Can a declarer ask what the contract is?
Jess C: "The declarer only has a right to be informed under certain circumstances, that is, when it is his turn to play." One might argue that, in the part of the sentence that states "...declarer or either defender, at his own turn to play, is entitled to be informed ...
.

Bottom Home Top