Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Michael Shuster

Michael Shuster
Michael Shuster
  • 42
    Following
  • 57
    Followers
  • 53
    Posts
  • 90
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
June 22, 2010
Last Seen
an hour ago
Member Type
Bridge Pro
Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
psyching 1S vs NZ 2nd seat red in world play. Win 16.
Bridge Accomplishments
2nd O/A 1996 Dallas 2-day Swiss. 3 time USA Junior team member.
Regular Bridge Partners
Sam Dinkin, Alex Kolesnik, Andrew Kaufman
Favorite Tournaments
Fall NABC (MPs all the way!)
Favorite Conventions
Roman Jump overcalls. Direct cuebids showing 2 known suits.
BBO Username
shuster
ACBL Ranking
Emerald Life Master
Shuster/Kaufman
Infernal Machine Light
Copy to my cards View/Print
Shuster / Kolesnik
Standard American with Relay
Copy to my cards View/Print
Assign blame
I think the single worst bid of the auction is 3, with spades that don't want to play opposite xx. 4 is honest and more accurate.
Have I missed something, or is this street-legal under the Open/Open + chart?
If it is 10+, it is constructive. Constructive bidding, is, in general, allowed. Except Moscito, because the bites really itch and (REDACTED Well known world champ and C&C member) is allergic.
Avon Wilsmore's bidding problem: 9xxx KQJ Axxx QJ
I hear "I don't think I can make 3NT." 3 did not promise club support. Yes, 5 might go down, but not bidding it is cowardly. I felt the decision was mostly about two things: 1) is 4-red a cuebid and 2) If so, is the hand ...
To claim, or not To claim
Then the showing of the cards and statement is REALLY bad. I'd let declarer run the clubs and have south pitch the spade 7 (a loser) and a heart just on the claim itself. The play after the "claim" though results in the same thing, so I'd let ...
To claim, or not To claim
Was this behind screens?
MI (?) Ruling
And what about the facts that South didn't bother to look at the auction and that North made up an new agreement on the spot rather than respect his actual agreement?
2!c With an Unbalanced Hand
With the 1.5 loser hand if I opened 2 and it came back to me at 6-red, I'd bid 6.
MI (?) Ruling
North decides his agreement doesn't apply and passes. That's on him. Adjusting was horrid. I'd only keep the deposit if it was ruled "result stands" and it was E/W who appealed.
2!c With an Unbalanced Hand
2NT - 4x3, 8-9 HCP, 0-1 controls. Seems pretty solid when it comes up.
2!c With an Unbalanced Hand
If I open 2, it creates a force. Not having any defense when setting up a force is not a good idea.
.

Bottom Home Top