Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Mike Nelson

Mike Nelson
Mike Nelson
  • 3
    Following
  • 3
    Followers
  • 1
    Posts
  • 5
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
March 29, 2011
Last Seen
21 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
Non Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Insufficient Bid
I don't understand the problem. All of the other 9,999 was of getting a bad board can produce a serendipitous top instead, but on average, they lose a bundle of matchpoints. And the various "could have known" laws will take away a significant number of them. Why banish ...
Insufficient Bid
I've played back in the days when bidding was verbal, and any call except an indisputably natural lowest sufficient bid in the the same denomination barred your partner. You comped with it by paying attention and [b]didn't make insufficient bids[/b]. If your concentration slipped and you ...
Insufficient Bid
The WBF could do something good for a change: issue the proper paperwork to remove this "comparable call" nonsense from the laws now, without waiting for the next revision.
Would you ever refuse to play a particular opponent?
Can I like this about thirty times? The penalty for premeditated cheating should be banishment for time and eternity. Any cheater who seeks a lesser penalty should know that if a lesser penalty is granted, it is pure unmerited grace.
After 1!C (P) 1!H (P) 1NT (P), under what conditions should you bid 2!H with a five-card heart suit?
I'm mostly am in partnerships where 1NT might have a stiff heart. I would bid 2 on five if I'm unbalanced and the heart are beefy enough that a 5-1 will play reasonably well, or at least not get murdered too badly, if I really, really fear ...
Forcing Pass situation or not
By my rules, this isn't a forcing pass: A pass is forcing if and only if a member of the partnership has bid or forced to game on power. This doesn't qualify. In view of the vulnerability, South is hoping to make, but there is no reason to ...
Can this sequence exist?
This actually makes some sense. It seems to be an impossible sequence, a more complicated analogue of 1NT-3NT-4NT, which can only mean opener is making a misteak,
Rule of 2 and 3
My judgement reduced to a rule would look like: 2-good 3-bad 3-4 shading it a bit in third seat, tightening a bit in second seat.
What is the default scoring type (and the default 1Nt range) for polls & bridge problems on Bridgewinners ?
The option should be in the poll, but I'd assume 15-17and voted accordingly.
JTx, AQ, Ax, KQT8xx
With this beefy club suit and two side aces, I'm going aggressive and opening 1 intending to jump. After 1, 2NT is best--if we have a slam, it might be 6NT, and I want to assure the opening lead rides up to AQ. After 1, the ...
.

Bottom Home Top