Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Phil Markey

Phil Markey
Phil Markey
  • 0
    Following
  • 18
    Followers
  • 16
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
June 3, 2015
Last Seen
5 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Lawyer, gambler, monogamist, wolfhound lover

Personal philosophy - clothing optional

Country
Australia

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
the last time I played
Bridge Accomplishments
winning
Regular Bridge Partners
Bruce
Member of Bridge Club(s)
South Australian Bridge Association
Favorite Tournaments
National Open Teams
Favorite Conventions
specific 2's
BBO Username
stiff queen
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Liam Milne's bidding problem: AQJ9 AJ 952 AQ62
I think the methods don't really affect the problem. The system has given all it could and now I have to judge what's best. The usual. I think slam is my value zone. 4NT.
Playing Weak NT. How to bid after 1m=1M with 4 card support.
The auction 1m-1M-2M is awkward playing a weak 1NT opening compared to playing a 15-17 1NT opening. In the latter case the sequence is very often a weak 1NT type hand with 4 card support and therefore comparatively easy for responder to judge. Playing a weak 1NT opening the possibilities ...
Mini-NT when?
"Isn't 1N doubled a great spot to be in if you know you're good for at least six tricks?" If you know you are good for at least 6 tricks as the declaring side then 1NT doubled is an awful spot compared with 1NT redoubled. We can agree ...
Two Sides
Hands like this one cause me to play a system that routinely opens the north hand. I usually reluctantly agree though that this is a matter of style. As is this result would go in my common thinking errors file. If it was right for north to pass 3 hearts ...
Unnecessary Dentist
Leading from KQ10 is not tough so being at the table would help but leaving aside that evidence I think the 10 of clubs is a favourite to be in the west hand. I don't think its accurate to say that you are trading the diamond guess by ducking ...
Infraction no penalty
In what way did your opponents get "the best of it" ? All that happened is that the table was put back into the position it would of been in without someone misreading a bid. This incident has happened at my table a few times. In the original posters position I ...
Infraction no penalty
I think any right thinking human being would assume that the comment "Really" was involuntary. The argument you put to the contrary is silly. It is not until partner gives a total nonsense explanation that you might react.
Infraction no penalty
If you find this sensible ruling hard to tolerate you should probably play a different game.
Penalized for not alerting a self-alerting bid by failure to alert a P/C
"Do you really want to win this way?" I see this mantra a lot. Far as I'm concerned it's a load of crap. The facts indicate that the doubler assumed something about the 2D overcall that he should not have assumed. He did not do any of the ...
Penalized for not alerting a self-alerting bid by failure to alert a P/C
I think the ruling is correct. That said if I was the doubler on this auction I would either not call the director or I would likely regret calling the director with the benefit of hindsight.
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top